Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Click on thumbnail to go to larger picture


Japanese Gardens, Queens Park, Invercargill
A hungry Duck in Queen's Park. The park is a great haven for them in the winter time as is sheltered and a great place get a feed of Stale bread
Anchor's at the Invercargill museum from the sailing ship England's Glory that floundered off the entrance to Bluff harbour in 1881
Band Rotunda in Queens Park,as inscribed .TO THE MEMORY OF BANDSMEN WHO FELL IN THE GREAT WAR.A.D 1914-1918.ERECTED BY THE CITIZENS OF INVERCARGILL WITH THE ASSISTANCE OF THE DOMINION BAND A.D.1928
Southland Boy's High School.Constructed in 1926.Building designed by Government architect John Campbell but compleated by his successor from Invecargill J T. Mair
Stone Bridge over the Duck Pond in Queen's Park in Invercargill
Invercargill's water tower,built in 1889 to the design of William Sharp.From 1934 to 1989 the tank on top was with out the cupola.To mark the structures centennial year a new Ogee-shaped cupola was made to the original pattern , at the same time the tower brickwork was restored .
Pond in Queen's Park very popular with Ducks and people who keep the ducks from becoming hungry.They like stale bread, the ducks not the people
This walk runs right through Queen's Park beginning at the Feldwick Gates.The gates built 1924 in memory of John Feldwick(1864 to 1913) who bequeathed a considerable amount of money for the development of Queens Park.Walk through park notice the various other attractions on the way to the Band Rotunda. Stop a while and have a look at the big Spreading Elm.Continue on to Herbert Street ,notice the Iron gates.These gates made in 1875 by a local engineer were originaly at the Eastern Cemetery,Restored by Mr J K Stevenson of J K Stevenon Ltd.


LINKS